How are you still managing to work?

It’s a question I’ve heard a few times. I also wonder if people are judging me for working but then bailing on anything social. 
I’m managing to still work because it’s literally all I do. 

I go to bed as soon as I get home and often end up sleeping straight through til morning.

I work because if I don’t, I don’t get paid. 

I work because if I don’t then I’m likely to end up as a patient. 

I work because helping those who are genuinely sick is a worthwhile cause and distracts me from my own pain. 

Social gatherings tend to involve sitting and that’s super uncomfortable and as much as I want to see people I’d rather not put myself in a situation that’s going to make me feel more pain. 

Good friends will understand. Others can bugger off 😅

So that’s why I work. No matter how much codeine or tramadol I have to take to keep me plodding on. 

I work to keep myself going. The pain can’t take everything away from me. It’s not fair. It’s taken my social life, it can’t steal my job too

Leave a Reply

