MRI funtimes

Today has not been a fun one. 

I knew the MRI wouldn’t be comfortable but this went above and beyond any I have had before. 

First of all the drink- no matter how much cordial you put in it, it still makes you want to gag. Which, you know, is marvellous when you constantly feel nauseous anyway. 

The coil was a hell of a lot lighter than the previous ones I’ve had on so that was nice. But there were no mirrors this time. I couldn’t see out. I couldn’t see how far in I was or what anyone else was doing. 

The headphones didn’t work so I couldn’t hear what the Radiographers were saying to me and they didn’t pump in any music to muffle the sounds. At one point it sounded like I was stuck in an arcarde game. Pacman noises were definitely made. How can a magnet be so noisy?

It was a horrible experience. I hurt so much, I felt so sick and I had to lie so still in a position that I would never chose as a comfortable one. 

All that breath holding did not help with the nausea. If anything it made the reflux worse and the panic set it about how long I was going to be stuck in there trying not to vomit on myself. 

And that was probably the most pleasant part of the day. 

The liquid they made me drink an entire litre of, was a laxative. 

How I made it through 30 mins of scanning and the journey back from Rugby before it kicked in baffles me. 

I do not feel good. 

Every grumble of my tummy hurts. Just to add to the normal mystery pain. 

All in all, I’m a bit miserable. 

Something better come of this scan or else I’ll be very upset I went through this for nothing. 

I need a holiday 

One thought on “MRI funtimes

Leave a Reply

